2015 scholarship winners announced

Posted by: IRT Foundation  | Monday, June 1, 2015

The Indiana Retired Teachers Foundation has announced our 2015 Scholarship winners.

Each year, IRTF awards 10 scholarships (one in each Area) to help promote our profession and assist college students who have a passion for the classroom.

Scholarships are awarded to juniors or seniors in an Indiana college or university who are in a program leading to a degree in education. 

We promote the scholarships in Indiana's institutes of higher learning, but we also encourage our local chapters to promote applicants. Scholarships are awarded by our IRTF Scholarship Committee.

The winners are:

Emily PaulsenEmily Paulsen
Pulaski County

The Area 1 recipient is Emily Paulsen of Winamac. She is attending Indiana University, Bloomington, where she is working on a bachelor degree in Secondary Science Education, with a concentration in Physics and a license addition in Computer and Technology Education. She is an active participate at Indiana University as a Singing Hoosier, where she has held several different leadership positions in the group. Emily’s honors include receiving a two-time Founders Scholar (GPA of 3.8 or higher), the best undergraduate lab instructor awarded by the physics department at IU, a presenter at the IU Exemplary Teaching Conference for the School of Education, and achieved the general honors notation for her degree through the Huttons Honor College.

Maggie Good

Area 3
Maggie Good
Fulton County

The Area 3 recipient is Maggie Good of Rochester.  She is attending Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) where she is a junior in Elementary Education. Since high school she has continued her involvement as a head-counselor for Camp-We-Can, which is a summer camp for people of any age with special age. Maggie is also finishing up her second year in college as a student-athlete in softball.   

Taylor VukovitzArea 4
Taylor Vukovitz
Parke County

The Area 4 recipient is Taylor Vukovits of Rockville. Taylor is attending Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana, where she studies Elementary Education.  At Ball State, she is a member of Phi Mu Fraternity. She has volunteered as a tutor there at the Buley and Huffer centers.  aylor has also made the Dean’s List at Ball State.

Kinsea HanniArea 5
Kinsea Hanni
Hamilton County

The Area 5 recipient is Kinsea Hanni of Arcadia.  She attends Purdue University, West Lafayette, where she is completing her Elementary Education Program. While attending Hamilton Heights High School in Arcadia, Kinsea was actively involved in 4-H for 10 years. As a college student, Kinsea continues with active involvement as an official 4-H volunteer. During her summers as a college student, Kinsea has worked as a day camp counselor at the YMCA. She has also made the Purdue Dean’s List for five semesters.

Robin ButlerArea 6
Robin Butler
Wells County

The Area 6 recipient is Robin Butler of Bluffton. Robin attends Butler University in Indianapolis, where she is working towards her bachelor degree in Secondary Education. As a Butler student, Robin is involved in Butler Catholic Community, serves as an HRC swim lesson instructor, and Secretary of Butler University German Club.

Holly FarrisArea 8
Holly Farris
Knox County

The Area 8 recipient is Holly Farris of Vincennes. She attends Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) as a student in the Elementary Education Program. Holly has been a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success for one year. She has also been peer tutoring at Skiles Test Elementary School where she will have her field experience there for six months.

Kaley BurchArea 9
Kaley Burch
Spencer County

One of two Area 9 recipients is Kaley Burch of Santa Claus. Kaley attends Purdue University, West Lafayette, where she is double majoring in Elementary and Special Education. She is a member of Delta Gamma Sorority, is Public Relations Director and Director of Activities, has had four musical performances in philanthropy events, served as a College Mentor in 2013-2015 and a is member of Council for Exceptional Children.

Gage Knies

Area 9
Gage Knies
Dubois County

The other Area 9 recipient is Gage Knies of Jasper. Gage is attending University of Southern Indiana in Evansville. He is studying to be a Secondary Teacher of Mathematics.  While attending USI, Gage is a member of the Newman Catholic Community of USI. He is also a member of USI Delta Epsilon Iota Academic Honor Society. Gage has also participated in USI intramurals: football, basketball and softball.

Jessica BarberArea 10
Jessica Barber
Dearborn County

One of two Area 10 recipients is Jessica M Barber of Lawrenceburg. Jessica attends University of Evansville where she is enrolled in an Elementary Education program. She has already been involved in several internships in various schools while in college.

Hannah GilstraArea 10
Hannah Gilstrap
Clark County

The other Area 10 recipient is Hannah Gilstrap of Henryville. Hannah attends University of Southern Indiana in Evansville. Hannah was one of fifteen students that USI faculty chose to participate in a new pilot program where the students will participate in the classroom student teaching for one full year. She has been a member of the Indiana Reading Association for one year. Hannah continues to work part time while she attends school.