REPORT OF THE MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

The IRTA state membership committee met virtually on two occasions over the past 12 months. In August of 2020 we met via Zoom, and two topics were discussed. The committee reviewed details for the 2020-2021 School Bell award and incentive program, and we discussed how we can work together to maintain and increase the membership in the IRTA in the middle of a global pandemic. During this meeting, members worked together to compose a newsletter that was sent out to all local presidents and local membership chairpersons of record. Attached to that letter was a summary of an interview with long-time IRTA membership advocate Bud King. A copy of these items is attached to this report. Our spring meeting, also held via Zoom, gave the committee a chance to meet our new AMBA regional Vice-President, Jim Colvin. Jim assumes the position formerly held by Sudi Naraine. Sudi received a promotion and began his new position in January of 2021. The committee determined that the School Bell award program would continue for 2021-2022 with some changes to the incentive award guidelines. AMBA will again sponsor this program. The committee clarified that local RTAs, as well as individuals, may submit their name for the incentive awards. The committee also reviewed the membership application form and recommended some minor changes to it, since new forms will be printed. In addition, the committee recommends that the IRTA board receive training (after the election in June) to ensure that all board members have the information they need to promote regular and associate membership at every local meeting they attend. Finally, the committee wants everyone to know that individuals may now join the IRTA via an on-line registration portal available through the IRTA website: retiredteachers.org. There are numerous payment options available.

For the School Bell Award and membership incentive program, the following members were selected to receive gift cards during the 2020-2021 membership year:

\$50 gift cards:

Bud King (Area 7), Sherry Biddle (Area 10) and Nancy Durham (Area 10)

This program enrolled 14 new members during the 2020-2021 fiscal year. Our AMBA representatives continued adding to our membership despite the difficult situation presented by the pandemic. Thank you, AMBA, for helping our association grow!

The winner of the third annual School Bell Award is Bud King. Sadly, Bud passed away in March of 2021 (not COVID-related). Bud signed up the highest number of new IRTA members (regular and/or associate) during the 2020-2021 campaign. As the winner, Bud's family will receive an engraved school bell and a cash award, courtesy of AMBA. We look forward to continuing this program for 2021-2022 with the sponsorship of AMBA.

Respectfully Submitted IRTA State Membership Committee David Lennen, Chairperson

Membership Committee Members

David Lennen, Daviess-Martin - Area 8 Catherine Franklin, Pulaski - Area 1 Madeline Garvin, Allen - Area 2 Kenneth Pierce, Parke-Vermillion - Area 4 Brenda Walls, Vigo - Area 4 Paula Dyer, Wabash - Area 6 Beverly Herman, Dearborn - Area 10